About Kundalini Yoga

What is Kundalini Yoga?

Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan, is considered the most comprehensive of yoga traditions, combining meditation, asana (physical exercises), mantra (sound), and pranayama (breathing techniques). It includes all the eight limbs of yoga described in Patanjali's sutras (ancient yoga scripts) into a singular practice of excellence and ecstasy. Kundalini Yoga is a science of the mind and body, to elevate the spirit, which has no boundaries, no discrimination. Therefore it is for everyone.

The origins of the word yoga come from the biblical word "yoke", which means to join together or to unite. Yoga joins the threefold structure of a human being, body, mind, and spirit, and ultimately through this junction, yoga unites the individuals' unit consciousness with the universal Consciousness.

How do you describe Kundalini Yoga?

Kundalini Yoga is also known as the Yoga of Awareness; its focus is on self-awareness and delivering an experience of your highest consciousness. Kundalini Yoga calls upon the full potential of the nervous and glandular systems and to balance the subtle system of chakras and meridians within the body. In practical terms, during the classes we practice various "Kriyas". A "Kriya" is an orchestrated pattern of movements, sound, pranayam, mudras, concentration and meditation that automatically guide the energies of the body and the mind to a specific result.

The primary objective is to awaken the full potential of human awareness in each individual.

chakras system

"In Kundalini Yoga the most important thing is your experience. It goes right to your heart. No words can replace your experience. Your mind may accept the words or it may not, but your consciousness will not accept just words."

~Yogi Bhajan, The Aquarian Teacher Training manual